Day 14 – Sandalwood

I have this candle that my mother in law bought me from, I think, Bath and Body Works, and I love it. It’s sandalwood and while it’s a more masculine smell, it just does something to calm and relax me and make me feel good. I’m not sure if there is much if any “real” sandalwood oil in it, but it does smell good. So when we look at doTERRA’s Sandalwood oil, we see it comes from India and it is steam distilled from the heartwood of the tree.

Sandalwood is great for sore throats, bronchitis, congestion, laryngitis and can be effectively gargled to rush relief and healing directly to the throat with juice, agave and the like. It is also fantastic for a lymphatic massage. Note to my husband: you can diffuse it in order to help coughing as a sedative. Ahem…..hubby!! Sandalwood is an all around good antiseptic, anti-fungal, disinfectant and antidepressant. I can see why, it’s just a solid, calming scent. I enjoy it in my candle and when it is gone, I’ll be sure to make another candle with some beeswax and a few drops of Sandalwood. I also recently purchased a clay pendant diffuser necklace for my son (in a lovely skull pattern which all the 6 year old boys think is just the best), and sandalwood is a fantastic scent to help keep him calm and grounded throughout the day. sandalwood-benefits2

Sandalwood has another great application, and I have not yet had a chance to try this, but I will next time it happens. If you’re anything like me, and you’re lucky enough to be blessed with semi-frequent UTI’s, using 1-2 drops in as many ounces of cranberry juice several times a day is supposed to be very effective. I hope to not have to put this to the test again any time soon, but should the need arise, I’m prepared! I’d certainly love to avoid yet another round of antibiotics!

 

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor and the statements on this blog have not been evaluated by the FDA. Any products mentioned are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

 

Leave a Reply

