Day 4 – Peppermint

Peppermint is a cross between watermint and spearmint and is native to Europe. Traditionally peppermint has been regarded for medicinal uses and, as it has an impressively long track record in history, it has been given the title of the worlds oldest medicine. Peppermint is so well regarded that it is even prescribed by doctors of alternative and modern medicine.

So what are these fantastic uses you ask? Well, peppermint has been used for everything from indigestion to nausea, headaches, pain relief, circulation, UTI’s, skin & hair care, as an immune boost and of course, for respiratory issues. You can put a few drops of this aromatic essential oil in your water, in homemade shampoos, cleansers and lotions, diffuse it or apply it neat. If you’re going to apply it neat however, peppermint can be quite tingly, and I would recommend that if it’s a bit overpowering, to dilute it with a few drops of fractionated coconut oil or another carrier oil.

As a person that seems to have picked up some seasonal allergies over the last few years, I highly recommend a blend of Lavender, Lemon and Peppermint. doTERRA makes it easy to take these in capsule form with a new product called TriEase Softgels. I also begin my morning by rubbing the LLP blend on my sinus area, which helps not only to alleviate some of my sinus congestion and general gunky-ness, but it also helps calm my itchy eyes. This is the area where peppermint is a bit “hot” for me, so I tend to use the blend with a bit of FCO.

I also LOVE to use peppermint when I have a headache coming on, and often times I find I don’t need to reach for the OTC pain killers when I get to it quick enough. I put a bit on my temples and the back of my neck, and I will also put a drop in my hands and simply breathe it in. Breathing it in also has the beneficial effect of being a quick pick-me-up. So, if I’m feeling a little sluggish, I just reach for the peppermint instead of the caffeine.

As this is also an oil that you may ingest, try putting a few drops in a batch of brownies or a mug of hot chocolate. Despite my darling husband and son’s protests to anything peppermint flavored (seriously, what’s wrong with them?) my daughter and I find the taste refreshing and delightful. I will even enjoy a bit of lemon and peppermint in my water from time to time when I just don’t feel like drinking it plain.

So as you can see, there are SO many uses for peppermint essential oil, and many more than I have listed here. Check it out for yourself! Best of all, if you sign up as an IPC, doTERRA will send you a FREE bottle of peppermint with your annual renewal! There is no obligation to explore the business side of doTERRA, but you can still enjoy all the best discounts, benefits and member only rewards if you do! I’m even running a special where I personally will throw in free goodies when you sign up with a qualifying order! Who doesn’t LOVE free stuff??

 

 

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor and the statements on this blog have not been evaluated by the FDA. Any products mentioned are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

One thought on “Day 4 – Peppermint

  1. Pingback: Don’t Forget Mom This Sunday | The Essential Mom

Leave a Reply

